From the Street?

It was the pre-last day of Christmas Markets in Heidelberg (December’22, I guess) when I heard that voice. People in a hurry were taking their last chances to buy presents. However, some of them gathered there, where the sound was coming from. I finally saw him. It was a person, standing in a direct posture, full of dignity and self-esteem, producing a wonderful, pure sound with his voice. He was singing the aria “Nessun Dorma” from  “Turandot” opera  by Giacomo Puccini. During the instrumental, played by his Ghetto-Blaster, he was expecting applause, and the public supported him. I have put a coin into the box and found his visit card in it, which said “Herbert Wüscher. Tenor”. As I googled later, he was called by people the German Paul Potts (the guy who won “Britain’s Got Talent” in 2007). I read that he had been working for theaters of Wiesbaden, Freiburg and Frankfurt, but because of some health problems, lost his contacts and job accordingly. Now he is a street- opera-singer, whom I had an honor to listen to.

         Every time I see such talents,  I just want to believe that they will never stop  pursuing their dream, and will find their own way to the job of their life. Maybe Herbert Wüscher already did.

 

Leave a Reply

